Press Club to Celebrate Community Leaders

Each year the Touchstone Awards provides an opportunity for the Press Club of Toledo to recognize community leaders in northwest Ohio.

During this special 50-year anniversary, the Press Club is excited to celebrate this year’s recipients at the 2022 Touchstone Awards on Tuesday, Oct. 4 at the Valentine Theatre.

Please join us as we recognize:


The award that recognizes a lifetime’s worth of outstanding contributions to the community in all aspects to include business, public service, and philanthropy, is being awarded to:

Mary Fedderke, vice president of development at the United Way of Greater Toledo, for her incomparable service to the Toledo non-profit community.


This award that recognizes outstanding contributions to the community, specifically someone who’s made a significant impact on the quality of life in Northwest Ohio over the past year, is being awarded to:

Will Lucas, community champion and owner of Creadio and TolHouse, and Moussa Salloukh, community champion and owner of SoukMediterranean Restaurant, for their contributions to the growth and development of the Toledo region and media impact in 2022.


Named after a founding member of the Press Club of Toledo, this award honors outstanding efforts to promote the press club’s principles. It is being awarded to:

Kurt Franck, president, general manager and executive editor of The Blade.

Get your tickets today to celebrate these community leaders and the achievements of local journalists during the past year!

Doors open at 5:30 p.m. for cocktails and networking and the program begins at 7 p.m. Parking is included with your ticket purchase. See you at the Touchstones!

You’re Invited to the 2022 Touchstone Awards

Join us to celebrate our 50 year anniversary!

The Press Club of Toledo cordially invites you to attend the 2022 Touchstone Awards to honor those who made a difference in the past year.



$65 Press Club Member
$75 Non-Member/Public
$45 Student

The Press Club of Toledo would like to thank our generous sponsors for supporting the Touchstone Awards and the future of journalism through our annual scholarship program that recognizes student journalists at The University of Toledo and Bowling Green State University.

Press Club of Toledo Calls for Touchstone Award Nominations

Press Club of Toledo announced today the public call for nominations for the 2022 Touchstone Awards.

For the past 24 years, the Press Club of Toledo honors the best of journalism and community service in the Toledo area at the Touchstone Awards.

“The Touchstone Awards are an incredible way to highlight the amazing talent we have here in the Toledo community and to showcase the importance of quality, local journalism and public awareness,” said Candice Harrison, president of the Press Club of Toledo.

This year’s award categories include:

  • Print- Daily
    • Hard News
    • Feature
    • Sports
    • Arts & Entertainment
  • Print- Non-Daily
    • Hard News
    • Feature
    • Sports
    • Arts & Entertainment
  • Photojournalism
    • Videography
    • Print
  • Television
    • Hard News
    • Feature
    • Sports
    • Arts & Entertainment
  • Radio
    • Single Report
    • Show/Series
    • Sports
    • Podcast
  • Best Use of Social Media
  • Best Use of Digital Media (Blogs, Websites, Non-Broadcast Video, the Arts)
  • Student
    • Television
    • Radio/Podcast
    • Print
    • Social or Digital Media
    • Photojournalism
  • Best Public Relations Campaign (public relations, crisis communications or community awareness campaign)

The nomination form can be found at Entries are due by Aug. 30, 2022.

The 24th annual Touchstone Awards Ceremony will be held on Oct. 4, 2022 at the Valentine Theatre.

2021 Touchstone Awards are in the Books!

The 2021 Touchstone Awards were held virtually on October 21. More than 80 people attended to celebrate the best in community service and local journalism. We thank Dr. Nicole Kraft for a thought-provoking keynote address! You can watch a quick summary of the event or enjoy the entire event! Congratulations to all the winners!

Touchstone Winners

Touchstone Contributor Award
Meg Ressner & Richard Hylant

Touchstone Lifetime Award
The Lavalley Family

Touchstone Lifetime Award
Billie Johnson

Golden Touchstone Award
Rhonda Sewell

Golden Touchstone Award
Fletcher Word

Norm Cartwright Award
Ron Royhab

Print Daily – Hard News
Sarah Elms, Brooks Sutherland and Danielle Gamble, The Blade

Print Daily – Feature
Mary Bilyeu, The Blade

Photojournalism – Videography
JD Pooley

Photojournalism – Print
Jeremy Wadsworth, The Blade

Television – Hard News

Television – Feature
Eric Oblander, BCAN

Radio – Show/Series
Deepa Bhujbal

Kaitlin Durbin and Phillip Kaplan, The Blade

Social Media
BCAN Pulse

Student – Television
Spring 2021 UT:10 Crew, The University of Toledo

Student – Print
Riley Runnells, Ohio University

Scholarship Winners
Caleb Gill, The University of Toledo
Ryan Dick, Bowling Green State University