The 2020 Touchstone Awards are in the books

Well, it wasn’t the event we expected to have at the beginning of the year, but we put the 2020 Touchstone Awards into the books nonetheless.

Thank you to the 82 people who attended our virtual event. We appreciate your support so much.

Also, we thank our generous sponsors who supported the event. Because of their support in these unusual times, we were able to increase the scholarships to $1,000. We were happy to give the good news at the event to Kennedy Ellison of the University of Toledo and Shayne Nissen of Bowling Green State University.

2020 Touchstone Winners

Lifetime Achievement Award

Bob Savage, Sr.

Golden Touchstone

Dick Berry

Mary Alice Powell

Contributor Award

Dr. Romules Durant

Wendi Huntley

Print Daily Hard News

Blade Corona Virus Coverage

Print Daily Feature

Precious Fondren, The Blade

Print Daily Sports

Dave Briggs, The Blade

Print Non-Daily Hard News

The Press Newspaper

Print Non-Daily Feature

Jason Webber: Dooley Noted, Toledo City Paper

Photojournalism Videography

Todd Gaertner, WTVG

Photojournalism Print

Kurt Steiss, The Blade

Television Hard News

Brian Duggar, WTOL

Television Feature

Alexandra Kruger BCAN

Television Sports

Claire Dau, BCSN

Radio, Single Report

Brad Creswell WGTE

Radio Show/Series

Brad Creswell WGTE


Haley Taylor, WGTE

Social Media

In the Loop WTOL

Digital Media

WTOL Instagram

Student Television

Chase Bachman

Student Print

Riley Runnels

Public Relations Campaign

Thread Marketing Group